Andhra Pradesh

Polls to urban local bodies in Andhra Pradesh to be held on March 10

Logo of Election Commission of India in New Delhi. File  

The poll bugle for holding elections to 12 municipal corporations, 75 municipalities/ town panchayats in the State was sounded on Monday.

State Election Commissioner Nimmagadda Ramesh Kumar said that the SEC had decided to continue the election process from the state of "withdrawal of candidature," as the commission had stopped the election process mid-way on March 15, 2020 due to threat of COVID-19 for a period of six weeks and issued further orders on May 6, 2020 continuing the postponement of election process until further orders.

According to the election schedule announced on Monday, candidates can withdraw their nominations on or before March 3, on March 3, the list of contesting candidates would be published, polling would take place on March 10, and votes would be counted on March 14.

The model code of conduct would come into force on Monday and shall in remain in force until the completion of election process.

The cities of Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, West Godavari, East Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam, Chittor, YSR Kadapa, Kurnool, Ananthapur would go to polls on same day.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 18, 2021 3:15:22 AM |

Next Story