Andhra Pradesh

Poll schedule for RS issued


The Election Commission on Monday announced the schedule for conduct of biennial elections to fill six vacancies to Rajya Sabha caused by the retirement of Sd. Azeez Pasha (CPI), K. Keshava Rao , Dasari Narayana Rao , Rashid Alvi and G. Sanjeeva Reddy (all Congress) and M.V. Mysura Reddy (TDP).

Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwar Lal told media persons here that the last date for filing nominations is March 19 and Secretary, Legislature will be the Returning Officer. Nominations should be filed between 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. No nominations were received on the first day, he said. Poll, if necessary, will be taken up on March 30. He said arrangements had been made for the web casting of the polling for the seven Assembly seats from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on March 18. A trial web casting was done in randomly selected 10 polling stations in each Assembly constituency on Monday.

He said so far Rs.6.6 crore unaccounted cash and one lakh litres of liquor were seized in the areas going to polls. Any one could send complaints or alert through SMS about violation of model code to 7382621251/52/53/54/55. The identity of the sender would be kept confidential and mobile squads would be pressed into action immediately. A facility was also being extended to the voters of seven Assembly constituencies to know their polling station by sending an SMS by typing EPIC followed by EPIC number/Voter ID card No. to 8978973452.

A Congress delegation led by B. Kamalakar Rao complained to the CEO that liquor and money was being supplied from the vehicles of Sakshi media owned by YSRCP chief Jaganmohan Reddy in Kovur constituency.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Andhra Pradesh
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 7, 2019 5:32:08 AM |

Next Story