Andhra Pradesh

Police to donate blood for patients

Policemen observing silence as a mark of respect to police martyrs at the IGMC stadium in Vijayawada on Saturday.

Policemen observing silence as a mark of respect to police martyrs at the IGMC stadium in Vijayawada on Saturday.   | Photo Credit: V RAJU.

Tributes paid to martyrs; plan to sanction houses for police personnel, says Home Minister

Deputy Chief Minister and Home Minister Nimmakayala Chinarajappa has said that the government is planning to sanction houses for all police personnel in the State.

He along with Irrigation Minister D. Umamaheswara Rao, Director General of Police N. Sambasiva Rao, City Police Commissioner D. Gautam Sawang and others placed wreaths and paid tributes to the slain police personnel at the martyr’s memorial here on Saturday to mark the Police Commemoration Day.

Later, they observed silence for two minutes as a mark of respect to the police martyrs. The police officers met the family members of the martyrs who attended the parade.

Earlier, ACT Media Channel vice-presidents Kapil Chug and Sunil Yajakan donated ₹25 lakh for police welfare. The DGP later told mediapersons that the police would donate blood to needy patients in emergencies and attendants could contact the SPs concerned.

MoU with SBI

The police and the State Bank of India (SBI) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for AP police salary package, under which the SBI would extend ₹30 lakh accidental insurance cover for each cop.

In Ongole, Environment Minister Sidda Raghava Rao

Prakasam Collector V. Vinay Chand and SP B. Satya Yesu Babu were among those who paid floral tributes to the martyrs.

In Kakinada, Reddy Subrahmanyam, incharge deputy chairman of the AP Legislative Council, East Godavari Collector Karthikeya Mishra and others paid tributes to the police martyrs.

In Rajamahendravaram, Urban district SP B. Rajakumari took the salute from the policemen who held a parade to commemorate the police martyrs. MP M. Muralimohan, Mayor P. Rajani Seshasai and Rajanagaram MLA Pendurthi Venkatesh were among those present.

In Machilipatnam, SP Sarvasresth Tripathy and other police personnel paid tributes to the martyrs.

Urban SP Abhishek Mohanty led the programme in Tirupati while at Tirumala, the TTD’s Vigilance and Security wing, led by CVSO Ake Ravi Krishna, and other security forces personnel donated blood. Various police operations were demonstrated.

In Kurnool, Rayalaseema IG Shaik Mohammed Iqbal, SP Gopinath Jatti and MLAs S.V. Mohan Reddy and Mani Gandhi placed wreaths at the memorial.

In Kadapa, Principal District Sessions Judge G. Srinivas, Collector T. Babu Rao Naidu, SP Attada Babujee and Additional SP A. Srinivas Reddy paid homage to the martyrs.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | May 28, 2020 9:54:25 PM |

Next Story