Andhra Pradesh

National-level kabaddi tournament for women at Tadipatri from today

Sixteen teams from various States will participate in an All-India Invitation Kabaddi Tournament for Women to be held at Tadipatri in the name of J.C. Nagireddy National Championship from Monday to Wednesday. 

Tadipatri Municipal Chairman J.C. Prabhakar Reddy told the media here on Sunday that some well-known kabaddi players, who had played at the national level, would also be part of the tournament. The tournament was being organised to promote rural sports and to bring more women into the sport, he added.

The winning team will get ₹2 lakh cash prize, runner-up ₹1.5 lakh, the second runner-up ₹1 lakh and the team finishing fourth will get ₹50,000.

The participating teams are from Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Panipat CISF, Rajasthan Police, Bank of Baroda, Gurukul More Delhi, JMC Haryana, Odisha, Central Railway-Mumbai, Tamil Nadu Police, PKR Erode, MT University Dindigul, Palem Sports-New Delhi, Andhra Pradesh, South Central Railway and Western Railway.

Our code of editorial values

  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | May 22, 2022 8:19:36 pm |