MLC election: PDF to support Narasimha Reddy, Pothula Nagaraju

September 29, 2022 09:18 pm | Updated 09:18 pm IST - ANANTAPUR

MLC K.S. Lakshmana Rao addressing a meeting in Anantapur on Thursday.

MLC K.S. Lakshmana Rao addressing a meeting in Anantapur on Thursday. | Photo Credit: R.V.S. PRASAD

The Progressive Democratic Front (PDF) on Thursday announced its candidates for the West Rayalaseema Teachers’ and Graduates’ Member of Legislative Council constituencies for which elections were scheduled in March 2023.

The voter registration process is scheduled to begin on October 1.

The PDF decided to re-nominate its MLC Kathi Narasimha Reddy as candidate from the teachers’ constituency and Pothula Nagaraju, a Congress leader from Anantapur, was selected to contest on behalf of the PDF in the West Rayalaseema Graduates’ constituency election, said Guntur-Krishna districts’ Graduates’ constituency MLC K.S. Lakshmana Rao at a meeting organised by the leaders of all supporting teacher organisations such as UTF and STF.

Speakers at the meeting called upon the people of these constituencies to support the PDF candidates to save the schools in the public domain and protect the working conditions of the teachers in the government sector.

“The Statute written by Dr. B.R. Ambedkar is being blatantly violated and the PDF is committed to protecting it,” he said. The PDF currently has five members in the Council.

Communist leader Gafoor, former MLC M. Geyanand, Mr. Narasimha Reddy, and Mr. Nagaraju were present.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.