Day of protests as political parties take to the streets

CPI, CPI(M), Jana Sena Party take out padayatra; Telugu Desam Party holds bike rallies; Congress blocks traffic, organises ‘Vanta-Varpu’

April 07, 2018 12:05 am | Updated 12:05 am IST - ONGOLE

Common cause: Activists of CPI, CPI(M) and Jana Sena Party on a padayatra for SCS for Andhra Pradesh in Ongole on Friday. S RAMBABU (Right) Jana Sena and Left parties taking out a rally from Morampudi junction in Rajamahendravaram.

Common cause: Activists of CPI, CPI(M) and Jana Sena Party on a padayatra for SCS for Andhra Pradesh in Ongole on Friday. S RAMBABU (Right) Jana Sena and Left parties taking out a rally from Morampudi junction in Rajamahendravaram.

Activists cutting across party lines took up different forms of protest to impress upon the Centre to concede the demand for the Special Category Status for Andhra Pradesh.

While the workers of the Communist Party of India(CPI), CPI(Marxist) and the Jana Sena Party (JSP) led by CPI district secretary M.L.Narayana, CPI(M) East Prakasam unit secretary P.Anjaneyulu and JSP convenor R.Bujji jointly took out a padayatra on the arterial Kurnool and Trunk roads braving the hot sun, the ruling Telugu Desam Party activists led by its district secretary K.Ravichandra held a motorcycle rally separately.

Meanwhile, the workers of the Congress party blocked vehicular traffic at the busy Church Centre to press for the SCS promised to the State by the Centre at the time of bifurcation. Police intervened and restored traffic.

The activists led by district Congress committee president E.Sudhakar Reddy earlier observed a relay fast in protest against the Centre’s ‘indifferent attitude’ towards the State which was struggling to overcome the bifurcation blues in the wake of the non-implementation of the assurances made in the A.P. State Reorganisation Act.

Kurnool Special Correspondent adds:

Members of the CPI, CPI(M) and the Jana Sena Party staged a padayatra from the Zilla Parishad office to Bellary Chowrasta here on Friday demanding the Special Category Status and implementation of promises made in the A.P. Reorganisation Act.

‘State deceived’

CPI(M) central committee member M.A. Gafoor accused the Central and State governments of tricking the people of the State for the last four years on the SCS issue. Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu said that SCS was not a panacea and accepted special package and those agitating for SCS were booked in cases and arrested, he alleged.

Accusing the Centre of sanctioning paltry funds for the central university, Girijan University and IIIT, he said no funds were sanctioned for the railway midlife coach factory in Kurnool.

The three parties would hold agitations against the double standards of the BJP and TDP, he said.

CPI leaders Rasool, P. Jagannatham, Manohar Manikyam, Jana Sena Party leader Suresh Kumar and CPI(M) district secretary K. Prabhakara Reddy and leaders B. Ramanjaneyulu, P. Nirmala, Ghouse Desai and Radhakrishna took part.

Chittoor Staff Reporter adds:

The TDP organised a motorcycle rally from the Gandhi Bomma Centre here.

‘Resignations a drama’

Party district president Pulivarthi Nani said rallies would be organised at all panchayats, towns and corporations in the district, to explain to the people how the BJP-led NDA government had hoodwinked the Telugu people for four years without giving the special status.

He termed the resignation of the YSRCP MPs as a big drama.

Relay fast

Tirupati Staff Reporter adds: More than 300 TDP members organised a scooter rally from NTR circle to the Tirupati central bus station.

The YSR Congress Party activists began a relay fast in support of the party MPs who resigned in Delhi.

JSP and left parties’ activists organised a padayatra from the Tiruchanur flyover bridge to the city. Student organisations and others also organised protests demanding SCS.

Candlelight protest

Kakinada Staff Reporter adds:

Barring the BJP, activists of all other political parties staged demonstrations here for SCS. The TDP took out motorcycle rallies in the city and rural Assembly constituencies.

Activists of the YSR Congress Party staged candlelight rallies and congratulated their MPs who tendered their resignations.

Activists of the JSP, CPI and the CPI(M) took an active part in a walkathon. The Congress workers took part in the ‘Vanta-Varpu’ programme at the Collectorate.

Meanwhile, the BJP workers celebrated their party’s foundation day.

BJP formation day

Rajamahendravaram Special Correspondent adds:

The TDP rally here was led by GUDA chairman Ganni Krishna, Mayor P. Rajanisesha Sai and Deputy Mayor Vasireddy Rambabu. The leaders explained how the NDA government deceived the State and TDP was fighting for the welfare of the State.

Leaders of the Jana Sena party Y. Srinivas, Ganta Swaroopa, CPI(M) district secretary T. Arun, CPI leader Nalla Ramarao and others led a rally from Morampudi centre to Pushkara Ghat.

Meanwhile, BJP activists celebrated the party’s foundation day. Party flag was hoisted by MLA Dr. Akula Satyanarayana at his office and by president of the local unit Bommala Dattu at the BJP city office. BJP Corporator Relangi Sridevi and others took out a scooter rally.

Similar protests were staged by the TDP and the Left parties and the JSP in Srikakulam district.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.