Andhra Pradesh

Bypoll: all contestants confident of victory


The major political parties that were guessing on the polling percentage are now claiming that they would emerge victorious in the by-election. The TRS candidate Pasunuri Dayakar said he would win the seat with a huge margin while the Congress candidate Sarvey Satyanarayana too claimed that he would win the seat with good majority. The BJP-TDP leaders were also confident of winning the seat.

Counting of votes

A total of 68.59 polling was registered in the by-election compared to last general election which was a little over 75 per cent. Counting of the votes would begin at 8 a.m. on November 24 at Enumamula Agriculture Market. District Collector Vakati Karuna inspected the strong rooms and reviewed the arrangements made for counting of votes. The polling trend indicates a favourable chance to ruling party while Congress and BJP-TDP might stand in second and third positions.

The public discontent campaigned by the Opposition parties did not seem to win over the voters this time. The ruling party leaders were tense over the low voter turnout and opined that they might get fewer votes if the polling percentage was low.

The ruling TRS leaders kept saying that they were only worried about the margin of majority as winning the seat was a foregone conclusion. However, they heaved a sigh of relief as the polling percentage went beyond 65 per cent.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Telangana Andhra Pradesh
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 19, 2020 10:48:12 PM |

Next Story