Andhra Pradesh

A.P. to have 26 districts from today

Andhra Pradesh will have 13 new districts from Monday (April 4), taking the total number of districts to 26. The State government, on Saturday night, issued a gazette notification carving out 26 districts out of the existing 13. 

As soon as the gazette notification was issued, the State government reshuffled bureaucrats and appointed Collectors and Superintendents of Police to the newly-created districts.

Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy would formally launch the new districts on Monday between 9.05 and 9.45 a.m..

Mr. Jagan Mohan Reddy said that the creation of the new districts would ensure good governance, and efficient delivery of services and government schemes.

Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Parvathipuram Manyam, Visakhapatnam, Anakapalli, Alluri Sitaramaraju, Kakinada, Konaseena, East Godavari, Eluru, West Godavari, NTR District, Guntur, Bapatla, Palnadu, Prakasam, Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore, Tirupati, Chittoor, Annamayya, YSR Kadapa, Ananthapuramu, Sri Sathya Sai, Kurnool, and Nandyal are the 26 districts. 

Manyam district has been carved out of Vizianagaram district. Anakapalli and Alluri Sitarama Raju districts have been created out of Visakhapatnam district. Kakinada and Konaseema have been carved out of East Godavari district, and Eluru from West Godavari district. Palnadu and Bapatla have been split from Guntur district. Nandyal has been carved out of Kurnool and Sri Satya Sai from Anantapur. Tirupati district has been formed by separating it from Chittoor district, while Annamayya district is created by bifurcating Kadapa district. N.T. Rama Rao district has been carved out of the Krishna district.

16,600 suggestions

The State government, in January, issued a draft notification to carve out 26 districts from the existing 13 and invited suggestions and objections. The government received 16,600 suggestions and objections from the public and the same were considered, it said.

Officials made recommendations after holding discussions with the people and public representatives. They said that they had prepared the proposals for the formation of new districts and reorganisation of the administration after taking all issues, including staff division, six-point formula and also Presidential Orders into consideration. 

Mr. Jagan Mohan Reddy, during the 2019 election campaign, promised that his party, if voted to power, would make every Lok Sabha constituency as a district. Andhra Pradesh has 25 Lok Sabha seats. One district was additionally created carving out the tribal areas in East Godavari and Visakhapatnam districts.

Our code of editorial values

  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | Apr 3, 2022 10:17:28 pm |