Andhra Pradesh

Andhra T20 league soon

Vizag to host the 10-day league in June

Andhra Cricket Association has announced ‘Andhra T20’, the State’s first cricket league on the lines of Indian Premier League.

Veteran cricket commentator and promoter of Pro Kabaddi League, Charu Sharma in the presence of ACA officials on Friday announced the league which will likely begin in June.

The league will engage up to 108 players from Andhra Pradesh through six franchises with each having a maximum of 18 players.

Visakhapatnam’s Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium will host the 10-day league that will have 23 matches, including 18 league, two semi-finals and a final match.

The league will have franchises from six locations including Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Godavari, Chittoor, Kadapa and Anantapur districts.

Mr. Sharma said the objective of the league was to boost confidence of players who would be for the first time playing before cricket fans and having top 120 player pool.

ACA honorary secretary Ch. Arun Kumar said the league would help players get the experience of dealing with tough match situations

ACA had already issued a tender inviting franchises ownership bids.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
  1. Comments will be moderated by The Hindu editorial team.
  2. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant cannot be published.
  3. Please write complete sentences. Do not type comments in all capital letters, or in all lower case letters, or using abbreviated text. (example: u cannot substitute for you, d is not 'the', n is not 'and').
  4. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.
  5. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

Printable version | Jun 3, 2020 10:03:27 AM |

Next Story