Andhra Pradesh

Braving chill, Gunturians walk with enthusiasm

People taking part in 12th Guntur 10K Walk on Sunday.— PHOTO: T. VIJAYA KUMAR  

Girls and boys, men and women strode with a passion and enthusiastically took part in the annual walkathon -- 10-k walk -- on Sunday. The walk with a motive ‘walk for Guntur, walk for health and walk for Amaravati’ saw many turn up at Indian Springs School, Vidya Nagar, braving the morning chill.

The music was on and the fitness trainers got on the stage to give tips to participants before embarking on the walk. Cultural programmes, dance programmes revved up the ambience as the crowd was egged on by the performers.

Ministers Prathipati Pulla Rao, Ravela Kishore Babu, Tenali MLA A. Rajendra Prasad, Superintendent of Police Sarva Srestha Tripathi and SAAP chairman P.R. Mohan arrived to the delight of the walkers.

The Ministers flagged off the event by releasing doves and balloons. The walkers immediately were off the mark in a jiffy and raced off, some of them even jogged for a few minutes before settling for a brisk walk. The walkathon passed through the Ring Road, Shankar Vilas, Hindu College junction, Collectorate, Kankaragunta RoB, Chebrolu Factory, and Gujjangundla before closing on at the school gate. The winners are K. Rajasekhara Babu (under 60 category, men), A. Lakshmi Samrajyam (under 60 category, women), G. Ravi Kumar (under 45 category, men) and B. Anusha (under 45, women).

I. Gowri Sankar and Sk. Noorjhan won in men and women under-25 category.

Rayapati Sambaiva Rao, Member of Parliament, Narsaraopet, Modugula Venugopala Reddy, MLA of Guntur West, gave away prizes to the winners.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 31, 2021 3:09:40 AM |

Next Story