Andhra Pradesh

19,593 voters to take part in Council poll

Special casual leave would be given on the day of voting

District Collector K. Bhaskar announced on Wednesday that 19,593 voters would exercise their franchise in the North Andhra Teachers MLC election which is scheduled to be held from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. on March 22.

Speaking at a press conference held at the Collectorate, Mr. Bhaskar said that among the total voters, 8,694 voters are from Visakhapatnam district, while the rest are from Vizianagaram and Srikakulam districts. He added that counting for the votes would be taken up at Swarna Bharathi Indoor stadium on March 26, from 8 a.m.

Mr. Bhaskar said that 39 polling booths in Srikakulam, 36 in Vizianagaram and 48 booths in Visakhapatnam have been arranged for the conduct of the MLC elections.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 3, 2020 10:20:48 AM |

Next Story