All set for by-elections in 8 States

Polling personnel check EVMs before leaving for polling duty at the Kakatiya Medical College premises in Warangal on Monday. Photo: M. Murali  

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the smooth conduct of by-elections to one Lok Sabha and 26 Assembly constituencies in eight States on Tuesday.

“We have reviewed the situation and made sure that all the arrangements are in place for a free, fair and peaceful election,” Chief Election Commissioner V. S. Sampath told The Hindu on Monday, after holding a meeting with senior officials of the Commission immediately after assuming office.

The poll will be held in Nellore Lok Sabha, and 18 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, and in that State alone, nearly Rs. 31 crore of unaccounted money has been seized by the expenditure-monitoring officials of the Commission.

Earlier, on June 2, the Commission held Assembly by-polls in Neyyanttinkara (Kerala) and Cortalim (Goa). Counting of votes for the poll held in all the 10 States will be taken up on June 15.

The other Assembly segments having poll are: Madhya Pradesh – Maheshwar (SC); Tripura – Nalchar (SC); West Bengal – Daspur and Bankura; Uttar Pradesh – Mant; Tamil Nadu – Pudukottai; Andhra Pradesh – Tirupati, Allagadda, Rajampet, Rayachoti, Parkal, Ongole, Narasannapeta, Payakaraopet (SC), Anantapur Urban, Yemmiganur, Rayadurg, Kodur (SC), Udayagiri, Narasapuram, Prathipadu (SC), Ramachandrapuram, Macherla and Polavaram (ST); Maharashtra – Kaij (SC); and Jharkhand – Hatia.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 3, 2020 10:32:49 AM |

Next Story