Akademi Awards given away

Ruskin Bond is among those selected for the Akademi fellowship. File   | Photo Credit: R. Ragu

Eminent English author Ruskin Bond, Hindi writer Vinod Kumar Shukla and six others were on Saturday selected for the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship.

The National Academy of Letters said in a statement that the general council of Sahitya Akademi which met under the chairmanship of its president Dr Chandrashekhar Kambar announced its highest honour, the Fellowship. The others who received the Fellowship are Sirshendu Mukhopadhyay (Bengali), M Leelavathy (Malayalam), Dr. Bhalchandra Nemade (Marathi), Dr Tejwant Singh Gill (Punjabi), Swami Rambhadracharya (Sanskrit), Indira Parthasarthy (Tamil).

Earlier at a ceremony, politician-writer M. Veerappa Moily and poet Arundhathi Subramaniam were among the 20 authors who received the Sahitya Akademi Award for 2020.

While Mr. Moily received the prestigious award for his epic poetry “Sri Bahubali Ahimsadigvijaya”' in Kannada, Ms. Subramaniam won it for her poetry collection, “When God is a Traveller” in English.

The other winners in poetry include Harish Meenakshi (Gujarati), Anamika (Hindi), RS Bhaskar (Konkani), Irungbam Deven (Manipuri), Rupchand Hansda (Santali) and Nikhileswar (Telugu).

Nanda Khare (Marathi), Maheshchandra Sharma Gautam (Sanskrit), Imaiyam (Tamil) and Sri Hussain-ul-Haque bagged the award for their novels.

Apurba Kumar Saikia (Assamese), (late) Dharanidhar Owari (Bodo), (late) Hiday Koul Bharti (Kashmiri), Kamalkant Jha (Maithili) and Gurdev Singh Rupana (Punjabi) have received the award for short stories.

The Akademi has named Gian Singh (Dogri) and Jetho Lalwani (Sindhi) the winners for their plays, while Mani Shankar Mukhopadhyay, popularly known as Shankar, received the award for memoir (Bengali).

The award, which includes a casket containing an engraved copper plaque, a shawl and ₹1,00,000, was presented at the function.

The executive board also announced the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2020 in 24 Indian languages on Saturday.

The English translation of Kannada novel “Ghachar Ghochar'” written by Vivek Shanbhag and translated by Srinath Perur, and the Hindi translation of Thiruvalluvar’'s ‘Thirukkural’ by TES Raghwan won the award among 22 others.

“The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by the Selection Committees of three members each in the concerned languages in accordance with the rules and procedure laid down for the purpose,” the National Academy of Letters said in a statement.

The translation prize carries ₹50,000 and a copper plaque which will be presented to the translators of each of these books at a special function to be held sometime later this year, it said.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 27, 2021 9:30:34 AM |

Next Story