21 new Ministers inducted into Modi Cabinet

November 09, 2014 02:51 pm | Updated November 16, 2021 04:46 pm IST - NEW DELHI

New Delhi, 09/11/2014: President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the newly sworn in Ministers at the Swearing in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi on Sunday, November 09, 2014.  Photo: R_V_Moorthy

New Delhi, 09/11/2014: President Pranab Mukherjee, Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the newly sworn in Ministers at the Swearing in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi on Sunday, November 09, 2014. Photo: R_V_Moorthy

President Pranab Mukherjee administered the oath of office to 21 Ministers, including four Cabinet Ministers, three Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and 14 Ministers of State on Sunday afternoon.

The Cabinet Ministers sworn in include former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, former Union Minister Suresh Prabhu, Haryana leader Birendra Singh and BJP General Secretary J.P. Nadda. Mr. Prabhu, a Shiv Sainik, joined the BJP after he was sworn in.

The new inductees are an eclectic mix. Mr. Parrikar and Jayant Sinha graduated from the Indian Institutes of Technology. Mr. Sinha who also studied at Harvard has more than a decade's experience at management consulting giant McKinsey and Company. Newly inducted Minister of State Hansraj Ahir was one of the people who exposed the coal block allocation scam.

Besides Mr. Prabhu, the new Ministers of State Bandaru Dattatreya, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Rajiv Pratap Rudy have held portfolios in the Vajpayee government in the late 90s.

Rajyavardhan Rathore, who is now a Minister of State, is an Olympian and an army veteran. He represents Jaipur Rural in the Lok Sabha. 43-year old singer, and MP from Asansol Babul Supriyo is the youngest inductee.

The two Dalit faces of this expansion are Agra MP Ramshankar Katheria and Hoshiarpur MP Vijay Sampla. Three new ministers, including Mr. Prabhu, have recently crossed over to the BJP from other parties. The other two are Ram Kripal Yadav, formerly of the RJD and former Congress MP Birender Singh. Mr. Yadav had defeated Former Bihar CM and Rail Minister Lalu Yadav's daughter Misa Bharati in Pataliputra.

Birender Singh and Sanwar Lal Jat are the prominent Jat faces in the expansion. Mr. Jat defeated Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee President Sachin Pilot from Ajmer in the Lok Sabha polls earlier this year.

This takes the strength of the Union Council of Ministers to 66. It is also the first expansion of the Union Council of Ministers since the Modi government took office on May 26.

Controversial names on the list include Bihar MP Giriraj Singh and Himachal Pradesh MP J.P. Nadda. Mr. Singh had commented during the Lok Sabha campaign that those who oppose Mr. Modi must go to Pakistan. Mr. Nadda requested for the removal of All India Institute of Medical Sciences Delhi Chief Vigilance Officer Sanjiv Chaturvedi who cracked down against corruption.

Cabinet rank

Manohar Parrikar

He is the first IITian to become the Chief Minister of any Indian state. Mr. Parrikar said that he had decided to accept the offer of Union Cabinet seat as a matter of “national interest” although he also said that he was extremely attached to Goa.

Suresh Prabhu:

Suresh Prabhu, a former Cabinet minister, is the head of a high-level panel on power revamp — “Advisory Group for Integrated Development of Power, Coal and Renewable Energy”. Mr. Prabhu was the initiator of reforms in the power sector during his tenure as Power Minister in the former NDA government when he had piloted the integrated electricity bill and the law for setting up a regulator.

J.P. Nadda:

He is the Rajya Sabha member from Himachal Pradesh and is also the national general secretary of the BJP. He also served as the President of Olympic Association, Himachal Pradesh from 2008 to 2012.

Birender Singh:

He is a Jat leader from Haryana. In August, Birendra Singh ended his four-decade-long association with the Congress and joined the BJP. Mr. Singh is one of the many Congress leaders to have shifted their loyalties to the BJP in the recent months.

MoS (Independent Charge) rank

Bandaru Dattatreya:

He is a former Union Minister for Railways and was appointed as chairman of parliamentary committee on OBC welfare. He was re-elected to 16th lok Sabha from Secunderabad Constituency.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy:

He is the BJP MP from Saran constituency in Bihar. He was the civil aviation minister in the previous NDA government. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections Mr. Rudy defeated former Bihar CM Rabri Devi.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi:

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is BJP’s prominent Muslim face and is a vice-president of the party. He is also the party’s youth wing president. In 1998 he was appointed Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting and was also given responsibility over the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.

MoS rank

Ram Kripal Yadav:

The BJP Patliputra MP will be the party’s “Yadav” face in next year’s Assembly elections, challenging his erstwhile leader and Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad.

Giriraj Singh:

A senior party leader who recently stoked controversy with his speeches during the election campaign wherein he said that those who opposed Modi belong in Pakistan. The statement drew flak from the Opposition parties and Election Commission. The BJP distanced itself from Mr Singh’s remarks.

Hansraj Gangaram Ahir:

He is an MP from Maharashtra who is credited with uncovering the coal block scam.

Y.S. Chowdary:

A first-time Rajya Sabha member, Mr. Chowdary is the second MP from the Telugu Desam Party, to be inducted into the Cabinet, the first being Union Civil Aviation Minister P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju, who represents the Vizianagaram constituency. He is popularly known as ‘Sujana’ Chowdary for founding the Sujana group of industries which manufactures home appliances.

Jayant Sinha:

He is the Lok Sabha MP from Hazaribagh constituency, Jharkhand. Mr Sinha, son of Yashwant Sinha was an investment professional and an alumunus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, and Harvard Business School. At McKinsey, Mr. Sinha co-led the global Software and IT Services practice.

Babul Supriyo:

He is a popular singer and BJP MP from West Bengal’s Asansol seat. He will be the first Minster from West Bengal in the National Democratic Alliance government.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore:

He is a first time MP from Jaipur Rural and also an Olympian shooter. He is a recipient of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards.

Vijay Sampla:

He is a BJP MP from Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency.


MoS (Independent Charge) - Dr. Mahesh Sharma; MoS - H.P. Chowdhary, Mohan Kundariya, Ramshankar Katheria, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Sanwar Lal Jat.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.