Election Commission bans exit polls between February 4 and March 8

An art student paints during a voting awareness campaign in Allahabad on January 24, 2017 ahead of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.  

The Election Commission on Sunday banned exit polls between February 4 and March 8 in view of the Assembly polls in five States and the Amritsar Lok Sabha bypoll.

Citing provisions of section 126 A of Representations of the Peoples’ Act, 1951, a spokesman of the EC said, “Exit polls cannot be conducted and publicised by means of print and electronic media or dissemination in any other manner starting from February 4, 2017 at 7 a.m. to March 8, 2017 at 5.30 p.m.”

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 6, 2021 6:58:19 AM |

Next Story