Cash-for-vote: ‘Govt. acted on panel recommendations’

The Government on Friday said it had acted on the recommendations of the Kishore Chandra Deo committee which looked into the cash-for-votes scam and a case under Prevention of Corruption Act was registered.

Sources said the then Speaker Somnath Chatterjee gave the Deo report to Union Home Ministry which entrusted the investigations with Delhi Police’s Crime Branch.

The Crime Branch registered a case against three persons -- Sanjeev Saxena, Sohail Hindustani and Sudheendra Kulkarni -- in connection with the incident and was investigating the case.

On July 22, 2008, the day the UPA government won the trust vote, three BJP MPs Ashok Argal, Faggan Singh Kulaste and Mahavir Bagora had brought a bag full of currency notes inside the Lok Sabha and alleged that it was given to them to vote in favour of the UPA.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 26, 2021 2:02:20 AM |

Next Story