18 States agree to revoke ‘no detention policy’ in RTE

With the consent of 18 States for “required amendments” in the ‘no detention policy’ under the Right to Education (RTE) Act, a committee headed by Rajasthan Education Minister Vasudev Devnani on Wednesday sent recommendations to the Central government, stating that the policy should be revoked.

Under the policy, no student can be failed or expelled till Class VIII. However, States, including Rajasthan, have already done away with the policy. The committee in its recommendations decided upon in New Delhi, stated that a ‘learning level’ must be fixed for each class to check whether a student is eligible for the class that he or she is in.

“Students must not be detained in Classes VI and VII. However, they must meet the required ‘learning levels’,” the recommendations stated.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 20, 2020 6:06:02 PM |

Next Story