12 smart cities to come up in Tamil Nadu

June 23, 2015 03:19 pm | Updated December 04, 2021 11:03 pm IST - New Delhi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will launch the implementation guidelines for 100 Smart Cities project on June 25.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will launch the implementation guidelines for 100 Smart Cities project on June 25.

Uttar Pradesh will get to nominate maximum number of cities to be developed as smart cities, followed by Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra.

The government has assigned number of cities each State/Union Territory can nominate under the >100 Smart Cities project as well as those to be developed under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) scheme.

Uttar Pradesh has been given the opportunity to nominate 13 cities to be developed as smart cities, while 64 cities in the State have been identified under AMRUT scheme, according to a senior >Urban Development Ministry official.

Tamil Nadu comes second with the allocation of 12 smart cities and 33 AMRUT cities.

While Maharashtra has been allotted 10 cities, Gujarat and Karnataka are eligible to develop six cities each.

Under AMRUT scheme, 37, 31 and 21 cities have been identified in Maharashtra, Gujarat and Karnataka, respectively.

>Delhi has got one city each for smart city and AMRUT.

According to the criteria finalised by the government, West Bengal and Rajasthan get to nominate four cities for the smart city project; Bihar, Andhra Pradesh and Punjab three cities; Odisha, Haryana, Telangana and Chhattisgarh two cities; and Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Jharkhand, Assam, Himachal, Goa, Arunachal and Chandigarh one city each.

Similarly, under the AMRUT scheme, 31 cities have been identified in Andhra Pradesh; 30 in Rajasthan; 28 in West Bengal; 27 in Bihar; 19 in Odisha and Haryana; 18 in Kerala; 17 in Punjab; 15 in Telangana and 10 in Chhattisgarh.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.