Other books that made it to the list

The other books shortlist for the prize included Idris: Keeper of the Light by Anita Nair, A Bad Character by Deepti Kapoor, The Mysterious Ailment of Rupi Baskey by Hansda Sowvendra Shekhar, Shadow Play by Shashi Deshpande and The Competent Authority by Shovon Chowdhury.

It was in 2010 that The Hindu Prize was instituted to commemorate the best of Indian Writing in English. The inaugural prize was won by Manu Joseph for his first novel Serious Men. Last year the prize was won by Anees Salim’s Vanity Bagh.

Earlier, Editor-in-Chief of The Hindu N. Ravi, gave away the prize to Anuja Sundar, who participated in the poetry competition organised by Prakriti Foundation. The Poetry with Prakriti’ (edition VIII) was presented by  The Hindu  Lit For Life 2015. Around 200 contestants from across the country had participated in the contest.

Nirmala Lakshman, curator, The Hindu Lit for Life and Director Kasturi and Sons Ltd. and Ranvir Shah, founder Prakriti Foundation were also present.  

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 30, 2022 11:52:48 am |