Bangladesh Parliament speaker to attend Modi’s oath ceremony

May 22, 2014 11:51 am | Updated November 17, 2021 04:09 am IST - Dhaka

Parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will represent Bangladesh at the swearing in ceremony of Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi on May 26.

“She (Chaudhury) will represent Bangladesh at the ceremony since Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will be on a pre-scheduled visit to Japan on that day,” a Foreign Ministry spokesman told PTI here.

India earlier invited Prime Minister Hasina along with the heads of governments in South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) nations to attend the ceremony at desired by the prime minister-elect.

The spokesman said Mr. Modi had also invited Ms. Hasina for a courtesy meeting after the ceremony but she could not join it as she would leave Dhaka for Tokyo on a four-day visit on May 24.

Earlier, Mr. Modi conveyed his desire to invite all SAARC heads of governments as he met President Pranab Mukherjee on Tuesday.

There is no precedent for inviting foreign heads of government when an Indian prime minister has been sworn in but Mr. Modi’s gesture appears to be a signal that he would run a neighbour-friendly government.

During the election campaign, Mr. Modi was engaged in some tough talk against both Pakistan and Bangladesh on issues of terrorism and illegal migration, but has later said “election campaign and governance” are two different things.

BJP president Rajnath Singh had said that about 3,000 people would be invited for Modi’s oath-taking ceremony, which will be held in the premises of the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.