India’s emphatic win at UN Security Council: Lukewarm response from China

Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian  

China on Friday gave a lukewarm response to India’s election as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council, saying as a permanent member, it would like to enhance cooperation with all the newly-elected members of the top organ of the UN.

Asked for his response to India’s election to the non-permanent seat of the UNSC with an overwhelming majority of 184 votes out of total 192 UN members amidst the current round of India-China military tensions, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian did not mention India by name.

“The UNSC is an important organ to uphold International peace and security following the UN charter,” Mr. Zhao said.

Also read | UNSC reform process, negotiations postponed ‘until further notice’ due to COVID-19

“As a permanent member, China would like to enhance cooperation with all parties of the UNSC including the newly elected non-permanent members to jointly fulfil the responsibility given by the UN charter,” he said.

While countries such as Germany, Norway and Ukraine have congratulated India on its emphatic victory, China has not done so nor did the Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman mention India by name.

India’s UNSC non-permanent seat: Modi thanks global community

China has been stonewalling India’s efforts to become member of the UN’s powerful body for years, pointing to the lack of consensus even though the other four permanent members, the U.S., the U.K., France and Russia have expressed backing for New Delhi’s membership.

China has in the past said there were major differences among UN members over UNSC reforms maintaining that a “package solution” should be found to accommodate the interests and concerns of all parties.

Also read | By any calculus, India qualifies for UNSC permanent seat: Syed Akbaruddin

India, the endorsed candidate from the Asia-Pacific States grouping, garnered 184 votes out of the total 192 polled in the Security Council elections on Wednesday.

Along with India, Norway, Ireland and Mexico will join the Security Council as the non-permanent members for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2021.

This is the eighth time that India will sit at the Council’s horseshoe-shaped table. Previously, India was elected for the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and most recently in 2011-2012.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 25, 2021 6:11:28 PM |

Next Story