Prachanda sworn in Nepal’s new Prime Minister

Pushpa Kamal Dahal, better known as Prachanda, being sworn in as Nepal's new Prime Minister at The President's House in Kathmandu on Thursday.  

Maoist chief Pushpa Kamal Dahal “Prachanda” was on Thursday sworn in as Nepal’s new Prime Minister, a day after being elected by lawmakers for the top post for the second time.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office to the 61-year-old CPN-Maoist Centre chairman at Rastrapati Bhawan, formally making him the 39th Prime Minister of Nepal.

Two Deputy PMs

Mr. Prachanda formed a six-member Cabinet that includes two Deputy Prime Ministers.

Maoist leader Krishna Bahadur Mahara is the Deputy Prime Minister with the portfolio of Finance and Nepali Congress leader Bimalendra Nidhi is the Deputy Prime Minister with Home portfolio in the new cabinet. Ms. Bhandari also administered oath to both of them.

The Prime Minister administered the oath to the three other Ministers — Ramesh Lekhak from Nepali Congress (Physical Planning and Transport), Daljit Shripali (Youth and Sports) and Gauri Shanker Chaudhary (Agriculture) from Maoist party.

To work for economic development

After being elected on Wednesday, Mr. Prachanda had promised to lead the nation toward economic development while working as a bridge between communities.

This is the second time the Maoist chief has become Prime Minister after his brief stint with premiership came to an end in 2009. He is also the only communist leader to become the Prime Minister of the country twice.

Mr. Prachanda was the premier from 2008 to 2009 before a disagreement with the military over his attempt to sack the army chief brought his period in office to an early end.

The Prime Minister’s post had been left vacant since last month after CPN-UML chairman K.P. Sharma Oli tendered his resignation.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 22, 2021 2:45:23 PM |

Next Story