Obama fourth U.S. President to win Nobel

Barack Obama speaks during a rally in this February 16, 2008. Obama became the fourth U.S. President to win the Prize. Theodore Roosevelt won the award in 1906, Woodrow Wilson won in 1919 and Jimmy Carter won in 2002. Except Carter all the others won the honour while in office.   | Photo Credit: Rick Bowmer

Barack Obama on Wednesday became the fourth U.S. President to win the Nobel Prize for Peace.

The other three are:

— Theodore Roosevelt (1906) “for his successful mediation to end the Russo-Japanese war and for his interest in arbitration, having provided the Hague arbitration court with its very first case“

— Woodrow Wilson (1919) as “founder of the League of Nations“

— Jimmy Carter (2002) “for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development“

Roosevelt and Wilson won the honour while in office and Mr. Carter 21 years after demitting office in 1981.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 18, 2021 5:31:57 AM |

Next Story