Three candidates file their papers for Kamaraj Nagar byelection


Naam Tamizhar Katchi and SUCI nominees in the fray

Three candidates representing Naam Tamizhar Katchi, the Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) and the All India Makkal Kazhagam have filed nominations on Friday to the bypoll for Kamaraj Nagar constituency.

Naam Tamizhar Katchi nominee M. Praveena, SUCI (Communist) nominee S. Lenin Durai and AIMK candidate S. Govindaraj filed their nomination papers before Returning Officer L. Mohammed Mansoor at the Tourism Department office.

No decision yet

The All India N.R. Congress are yet to finalise their candidates.

Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy, Member of Parliament V. Vaithilingam and Pradesh Congress Committee president A. Namassivayam are camping in New Delhi to finalise the candidate.

The local leadership of the BJP on Friday held talks with the All India N.R. Congress.

Both the parties, which fought the Lok Sabha elections under pre-poll alliance, are vying for the Kamaraj Nagar seat.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Puducherry
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 29, 2020 8:11:42 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/puducherry/three-candidates-file-their-papers-for-kamaraj-nagar-byelection/article29534368.ece

Next Story