Statistics professor wins best academic researcher award

J. Subramani

J. Subramani  


J. Subramani, a renowned statistician from India currently working as Associate Professor in the Department of Statistics, Pondicherry University, has been selected for the “Best Academic Researcher Award” by the Association of Scientists, Developers and Faculties (ASDF).

The ASDF hosts the global awards every year across the world to identify and catapult awardees into a higher level, which could be visualised into greater standards.

International Secretary of ASDF K. Kokula Krishna Hari made this announcement recently. Dr. Subramani will be presented the “Best Academic Researcher Award at a function to be held at Bangkok, Thailand on December 30.

Dr. Subramani told The Hindu, “I am happy to be recognised for my efforts to improve the analytical skills of young students and eliminate math phobia among them.”

A certified ISO 9000-2000 QMS Lead Auditor, he carries over 20 years of teaching and research experience combined with industry experience. He has also served as visiting scientist in the prestigious University of Windsor, Canada.

Dr. Subramani also had received the young statistician award from the International Statistical Institute, Netherlands, as well as Indian Society of Probability and Statistics.

His most significant contributions have been in the fields of estimation of variance components particularly the C R Rao’s MINQUE (minimum norm quadratic unbiased estimation) theory, design of experiments, sampling theory and recreational mathematics.

Dr. Subramani, who has authored about 120 research papers, continues to be a peer reviewer for more than 20 highly reputed statistical journals from India and abroad.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Puducherry
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 22, 2020 12:07:20 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/puducherry/statistics-professor-wins-best-academic-researcher-award/article6611073.ece

Next Story