Heavyweights bite the dust

Sitting Ministers and heavyweights in the AINRC Government headed by former Chief Minister N. Rangasamy lost their electoral battle. Three Independent candidates who contested as rebels of the ruling AINRC also bit the dust in the elections.

Ministers in the AINRC Government who lost are P. Rajavelu from Nettapakkam (reserved) constituency, N.G. Pannirselvam from Ozhukarai, T. Thiagarajan from Bahour and Speaker V. Sabapathy from Ariyankuppam.

Mr. Rajavelu’s loss in Nettapakkam is all the more significant as he had held the portfolios of Welfare and Tourism. Among the biggest losers was Local Administration Minister Mr. Pannirselvam who lost by a margin of 7107 votes to M.N.R. Balan of the Congress, a debutant in Ozhukarai. Electricity Minister Mr. Thiagarajan lost by a margin of 2807 votes to N. Dhanavelu of the Congress.

Speaker Mr. Sabapathy who contested from Ariyankuppam suffered an ignominious defeat after he polled a mere 7,248 votes as against 14,029 secured by D. Jayamurthy of the Congress and 7,458 votes polled by AIADMK nominee M.A.S. Subramanian. Mr. Sabapathy was pushed to the third place in the segment.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Mar 7, 2021 9:49:34 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/puducherry/heavyweights-bite-the-dust/article8623737.ece

Next Story