CPI releases list of candidates for 7 seats

R. Viswanathan, Puducherry CPI unit secretary, along with party candidates at a press meet in Puducherry on Thursday.- Photo: S.S. Kumar  

The Communist Party of India unit secretary and the convener of People’s Welfare Front (PWF) R.Viswanathan will contest from Kamaraj Nagar constituency.

Mr. Viswanathan has been a full-time activist of the CPI since 1979.

He contested in 1990, 1991, 1996 and 2006 in Reddiyarpalayam constituency. Mr. Viswanathan was MLA for 13 years and minister for three years.

Addressing reporters here, Mr. Viswanathan said his party would field seven candidates.

The other CPI candidates and the constituencies from where they will contest are: AITUC Puducherry unit general secretary V. S. Abishegam (Mudaliarpet), State Committee member K Murugan (Muthialpet), K Sethuselvam (Thattanchavady), A. Devasagayam (Oulgaret), N. Mohan alias Veerayyan (Nellithope) and K. Tamizhalagan (Neduncadu).

Mr. Viswanathan said the chief ministerial candidate of the PWF could not be declared now in Puducherry. It would be decided only after the elections.

Talks still on

The PWF convener maintained that talks are still on with leaders of DMDK to arrive at a conclusion. He also added the functionaries of Tamil Manila Congress met him and extended support to party candidates.

Mr. Viswanathan said the PWF would campaign to oust the ‘corrupt’ AINRC government from the power and form an alternative government in the Union Territory.

He added the constituents would highlight the prevailing issues such as corruption, unemployment, closure of mills and other misdeeds of the ruling government.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 27, 2020 11:11:15 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/puducherry/cpi-releases-list-of-candidates-for-7-seats/article8507546.ece

Next Story