Six-member Ministry to take charge tomorrow

Getting ready:Preparations on for the swearing-in ceremony at Gandhi Thidal in Puducherry on Saturday.— Photo: S.S. Kumar  

The six-member Congress Ministry headed by senior Congress leader V. Narayanasamy will be sworn in on June 6.

Sources in the party said the Chief Minister designate V. Narayanasamy accompanied by the newly-elected Congress MLAs held consultations with All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Sonia Gandhi in Delhi and finalised the date of swearing in and the size of the Ministry.

Mr. Narayanasamy and his Ministers will be sworn in at a ceremony at Gandhi Thidal on Monday. Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi will administer the oath of office and secrecy to them. It is reliably learnt that A. Namassivayam, M.O.H.F. Shahjahan, R. Kamalakannan, M. Candassamy and Malladi Krishna Rao will also be inducted in office at the same venue.

Meanwhile, supporters of senior Congress leader V. Vaithilingam took strong exception to the exclusion of Mr. Vaithilingam from the list of Ministers.

They aired their anger by holding demonstration near Mr. Vaithilingam’s residence here and at his native in Maducarai in Nettapakkam. Talking to reporters, Mr. Vaithilingam said “I am happy about the decision of the high command. It is but natural for the workers to react when their expectations are not fulfilled. I will abide by the decision of the high command.”

Not decided

When asked whether he was the candidate for the post of Speaker, he said that it was a long process and nothing had been decided.

There was also protest from supporters of Congress MLA K. Lakshminarayanan, who also objected to his non-inclusion in the Ministry.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 24, 2021 7:05:36 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/puducherry/Six-member-Ministry-to-take-charge-tomorrow/article14385925.ece

Next Story