15 candidates file papers in Kamaraj Nagar

S. Bouvanesvarane   | Photo Credit: T_Singaravelou

Fifteen candidates filed their nomination papers in the Kamaraj Nagar byelection on Monday, the last day to file papers.

Those who submitted the nomination to Returning Officer L. Mohammad Mansoor included Congress nominee A. John Kumar, All India N.R. Congress candidate S. Bouvanesvarane, Naam Thamizhar Katchi candidate Devika, Makkal Munnetra Congress (MMC) nominees Vettri Selvan and S. Shenbagavalli.

The first to file the nomination was Mr. Kumar, who was accompanied by Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy, Member of Parliament V. Vaithilingam, Pradesh Congress Committee president A. Namassivayam. Leaders from alliance parties Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, the Communist Party of India, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Viduthalai Chirthaigal Katchi were present.

Mr. Bouvanesvarane was the next to file papers.

He was accompanied by Opposition leader and party founder president N. Rangasamy, AIADMK floor leader A. Anbalagan, BJP MLA V. Saminathan.

A. John Kumar

A. John Kumar   | Photo Credit: M_SAMRAJ


The candidature of Mr. Bouvanesvarane, a confidant of Mr Rangasamy, was finalised only on Monday morning after considering the names of former Member of Parliament R. Radhakrishnan and former legislator representing Orleanpet G. Nehru.

Mr. Nehru had even launched his campaign two days ago but had to abruptly leave the constituency following protest by supporters of AIADMK legislator V. Vaiyapuri Manikandan.

Sources in the party said Mr. Radhakrishnan was not interested in entering the fray for a bypoll.

Local unit of the BJP was also interested to field a candidate for the bypoll but was compelled to retreat following AINRC’s firm resolve to contest the bypoll.


On Monday morning, the party made an announcement that it would support AINRC for the byelection.

The other prominent candidates who filed their nominations are from Makkal Munnetra Congress, which was recently floated by former Speaker P. Kannan. Mr. Selvan and Ms. Shenbagavalli filed their nomination papers accompanied by Mr Kannan.

In the wake of both clearing the scrutiny, one candidate had to withdraw the nomination.

Mr. Mansoor told The Hindu that 18 candidates had filed their nominations for the byelection.

Scrutiny of papers would be taken up on Tuesday, he added.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 25, 2021 3:34:00 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/puducherry/15-candidates-file-papers-in-kamaraj-nagar/article29560297.ece

Next Story