Record voting for four Council seats


Despite heavy rains, teachers’ constituency sees 83.26% voter turnout

Biennial elections for four seats in the Maharashtra Legislative Council witnessed large voter turnout on Monday despite continuous rains. The results will be announced on Thursday.

Elections were held for the Mumbai graduates’, Mumbai teachers’, Konkan graduates’ and Nasik teachers’ constituencies of the Upper House. According to the final voting percentage, Mumbai and Konkan graduates’ constituencies witnessed 53.23% and 73.89% voting. Mumbai and Nasik teachers’ constituencies witnessed 83.26% and 92.30% polling respectively.

The terms of sitting members, Deepak Sawant (of the Shiv Sena — Mumbai Graduates), Kapil Patil (of Lok Bharati party — Mumbai Teachers), Niranjan Davkhare (who switched from Nationalist Congress Party to Bharatiya Janata Party — Konkan Graduates) and Apoorva Hire (an independent — Nashik Teachers), are expiring on July 7.

These elections have featured yet another electoral battle between the ruling alliance of the BJP and Shiv Sena as both the parties will again fight against each other after the Palghar Lok Sabha by-election.

The NCP, the Peasants and Workers Party (PWP) and the Lok Bharti Party are also in fray in the four seats, making it a tough contest.

Denied ticket

In the Mumbai Graduates’ seat, Amit Mehta of the BJP is pitted against the Sena’s Vilas Potnis. The Congress and NCP have extended their support to PWP candidate Rajendra Korde in this seat. The Sena has denied a ticket to Deepak Sawant, State Health Minister, from the Mumbai Graduates’ constituency, which he represented for two consecutive terms.

In the Mumbai Teachers’ constituency, sitting MLC Kapil Patil of Lok Bharati is facing a challenge from BJP’s Anil Deshmukh and Shiv Sena’s Shivaji Shendge.

In the Konkan Graduates’ seat, sitting MLC Niranjan Davkhare will take on the Sena’s Sanjay More. The NCP has fielded Najeeb Mulla, who has the support of the Congress and other opposition parties.

In the 78-member Maharashtra Legislative Council, 31 MLCs are elected by the State Assembly members, 21 by local authorities, 12 are nominated by the governor and seven each (a total of 14) are elected by graduates and teachers.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Mumbai
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 7, 2019 4:41:16 AM |

Next Story