No talks with Shiv Sena yet on seat sharing for Lok Sabha poll, says BJP 

Earlier in the day, there were reports of Shinde Sena contesting 22 out of 48 seats in the upcoming Lok Sabha election

Updated - July 27, 2023 03:04 pm IST

Published - May 26, 2023 09:30 pm IST - MUMBAI

Maharashtra BJP leader Sudhir Mungatiwar. File

Maharashtra BJP leader Sudhir Mungatiwar. File | Photo Credit: Emmanual Yogini

Amidst talks of Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena planning to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha election on 22 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Sudhir Mungatiwar dismissed all claims and said, “It is very early to hold talks with the Sena on seat sharing.”

Talking to The Hindu, Mr. Mungatiwar said, “The Sena had come to us (BJP) to form a government and their well-being will be kept in mind. However, absolutely no talk about seat sharing has been held with the Sena,” said the Cabinet Minister for Forests, Cultural Affairs and Fisheries.

Earlier in the day, there were reports of Shinde Sena contesting 22 out of 48 seats in the upcoming Lok Sabha election. Talking to The Hindu, Rahul Shewale, a Member of Parliament from Shinde Sena said, “We have decided to contest in all our old seats. Just like the last time, we will be running for all 22 seats this time and the BJP will contest on the remaining 26 seats.”

In 2019, the consolidated Shiv Sena had contested the Lok Sabha election on 22 seats. However, the Shinde faction has 13 MPs while Uddhav Thackeray Sena has only five. Mr. Shewale said, “We are in the process of getting new faces and new members in the party.”

In 2019, the BJP and the Shiv Sena had contested the election in alliance and won 41 out of 48 seats of which the BJP won 23 out of 25 seats while the Shiv Sena won 19 out of 22 seats. The Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) contested 25 and 19 Lok Sabha seats, respectively, while Constituent Party candidates contested four seats. This alliance was successful in only five seats including four seats of the NCP and only one seat of the Congress. Now from 2019, the situation is different, so the picture of seat allotment is also fast.

Mr. Shinde is accompanied by his son Shrikant from Kalyan constituency, Rahul Shewale from South Central Mumbai constituency, Hemant Patil from Hingoli constituency, Prataprao Jadhav from Buldana constituency, Kripal Tumane from Ramtek constituency, Bhavana Gawli from Yavatmal-Washim constituency, Srirang Barne from Maval constituency, Sanjay Mandalik from Kolhapur constituency, Sadashiv Lokhande from Shirdi constituency, Hemant Godse from Nashik constituency and Rajendra Gavit from Palghar constituency.

“We have decided to contest in all our old seats”Rahul ShewaleMember of Parliament, Shinde Sena

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.