Maharashtra portfolios: Ajit Pawar gets Finance, Anil Deshmukh Home Ministry

Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and Deputy CM Ajit Pawar. File Photo.   | Photo Credit: Vivek Bendre

Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister and senior NCP leader Ajit Pawar has got the finance and planning department while his party colleague Anil Deshmukh is the new Home minister of the State, a senior official said on Sunday.

Also read: Know Uddhav Thackeray’s new team

Besides, first-time Shiv Sena MLA Aaditya Thackeray, who is the son of Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, has been given charge of the environment, tourism and protocol departments, he said.

Senior Congress leader Balasaheb Thorat has got the revenue ministry, the official added.

With this allocation of portfolios, the Sharad Pawar- led NCP has got most of the ‘plum’ ministries.

There were speculations that either Ajit Pawar or Jayant Patil of the NCP would get the Home department, but the portfolio has been allocated to their party colleague Anil Deshmukh.

Earlier, Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari approved the allocation of portfolios as proposed by the chief minister.

The list of portfolios to be allocated to ministers was sent to the governor on Saturday evening.

The Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi government, comprising the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress, had been facing criticism from the opposition BJP for delay in the allocation of portfolios despite being in power for over a month now.

Chief Minister Thackeray and six of his council members - two each from the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress - took oath on November 28.

Watch | The rise of Uddhav Thackeray

Thackeray expanded his month-old ministry on December 30 by inducting 36 ministers.

The full portfolio details are as follows:

CM Uddhav Thackeray (Shiv Sena) - General Administration Department, IT, Law and Judiciary

Deputy CM Ajit Pawar (NCP) - Finance and Planning

Balasaheb Thorat (Congress) - Revenue Ministry

Aaditya Thackeray (Shiv Sena) - Tourism, Environment and Protocol

Eknath Shinde (Shiv Sena) - Urban Development Department, Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation

Subhash Desai (Shiv Sena) - Industries

Ashok Chavan (Congress) - Public Works Department

Anil Deshmukh (NCP) - Home

K.C. Padvi (Congress) - Tribal Affairs Department

Chhagan Bhujbal (NCP) - Food, civil supplies and consumer protection

Dilip Walse-Patil (NCP) - Labour, Excise departments

Jayant Patil (NCP) - Irrigation Department

Hasan Mushreef (NCP) - Rural Development

Balasaheb Patil (NCP) - Cooperation

Rajesh Tope (NCP) - Public Health Department

Nawab Malik (NCP) - Minority Affairs

Jitendra Awhad (NCP) - Housing

Rajendra Shingne (NCP) - Food & Drugs Administration

Nitin Raut (Congress) - Power

Vijay Vadettiwar (Congress) - OBC ministry, Relief & Rehabilitation, Salt-pan development

Varsha Gaikwad (Congress) - School Education

Yashomati Thakur (Congress) - Women and Children Welfare

Sunil Kedar (Congress) - Animal Husbandry, Dairy development, Youth and Sports

Amit Deshmukh (Congress) - Medical Education and Cultural Affairs

Dhananjay Munde (NCP) - Social Justice

Uday Samant (Shiv Sena) - Higher and Technical Education

Anil Parab (Shiv Sena) - Transport and Parliamentary Affairs

Dada Bhuse (Shiv Sena) - Agriculture

Sanjay Rathod (Shiv Sena) - Forest

Gulabrao Patil (Shiv Sena) - Water supply and sanitation

Sandipan Bhumre (Shiv Sena) - Employment Guarantee and Horticulture

Aslam Sheikh (Congress) - Textile, Fisheries and Ports

Shankarrao Gadakh (Independent) - Water conservation

Minister of State:

Abdul Sattar (Shiv Sena) - Revenue, Rural development, Port, Salt pans

Satej Patil (Congress) - Home (Urban), Housing, Transport, IT, Parliamentary Affairs

Shambhuraje Desai (Shiv Sena) - Home (Rural), Finance, Excise, Skill Development, Marketing

Bachchu Kadu (Prahar Party) - Irrigation, School Education, Women and child Welfare, Labour, OBC Ministry

Dattatraya Bharne (NCP) - PWD, Forest, Dairy Development, Animal Husbandry, Fisheries, General Administration

Vishwajeet Kadam (Congress) - Cooperation, Agriculture, Social Justice, Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection, Minority Development and Marathi Language Development

Rajendra Patil-Yadravkar (Independent) - Public Health, Medical Education, FDA, Textiles

Sanjay Bansode (NCP) - Environment, MSRDC, Employment Guarantee, Parliamentary Affairs, Water Supply and Sanitation

Prajakt Tanpure (NCP) - Urban Development, Power, Tribal Affairs, Higher and Technical Education, Relief and Rehabilitation, Disaster Management

Aditi Tatkare (NCP) - Tourism, Industries, Protocol,

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 13, 2021 8:20:22 AM |

Next Story