Parties shift to poll mode in Kozhikode

Formal announcement of candidates likely soon

Mainstream political parties have gone into election mode though none of them have formally announced the candidates for the two Lok Sabha constituencies, namely, Kozhikode and Vadakara, in the district.

Highlighting his achievements, M.K. Raghavan, MP, is already carrying out a campaign in all Assembly segments.

The Congress high command is yet to clear his re-nomination from Kozhikode from where he trounced P.A. Mohammed Riyaz of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) in the 2009 polls.

The UDF also seemed to be going on an inauguration spree in the district as was evident in the past two weeks. Union Minister for Home Sushil Kumar Shinde had come down to Nadapauram in Vadakara recently to inaugurate a facility of the BSF.

This was following the request of Union Minister of State for Home Mullappally Ramachandran, who is likely to seek a second term from the constituency after his stunning win last time. The Socialist Janata (Democratic) also has an eye on this seat.

At the same time, the CPI(M) is gearing up to wrest the two seats it lost to its arch rivals. Party sources think the Kerala Raksha Yatra, led by CPI (M) State secretary Pinarayi Vijayan, had helped galvanize the party machinery . The party is expected to announce its candidates after a State committee meeting on March 6 and 7.

CPI(M) candidates

The names of party central committee member A. Vijayaraghavan and A. Pradeepkumar, MLA, have been doing the rounds in party circles, as probable candidates for the Kozhikode seat. The party is unlikely to field Mr. Riyaz again. In all probability, it is likely to field Mr. Vijayayaraghavan, elected to the Lok Sabha from Palakkad. He was Chief Whip of the party in the Rajya Sabha.

The party has reportedly zeroed in on K.K. Shailaja and P.K. Sreemathy, both from Kannur, for Vadakara.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has shortlisted senior leaders C.K. Padmanabhan, K.P. Sreeshan, and M.T. Ramesh for the Kozhikode constituency and K.P. Sreeshan, V.K. Sajeevan, and M.T. Ramesh for the Vadakara seat.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 4, 2020 6:38:02 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/kozhikode/parties-shift-to-poll-mode-in-kozhikode/article5749543.ece

Next Story