Governor clears list of HoDs, deans to Calicut varsity Senate

September 30, 2023 08:13 pm | Updated 08:17 pm IST - Kozhikode

Governor Arif Mohammed Khan has recommended 11 persons in the category of heads of departments and deans handling various disciplines as members of the Senate of the University of Calicut.

Mr. Khan, however, is yet to clear the list of 16 others, including students’ representatives and experts in various fields, which will ultimately pave the way for the elections to the Syndicate, the “chief executive” of the university. Syndicate members other than ex-officio members and those nominated by the government are elected from among the Senate members.

The heads of departments chosen to the Senate are Rajeev S. Menon, Department of Chemistry; C.C. Harilal, Department of Botany; V.L. Lajish, Department of Computer Science; S. Sindhu, Department of Nanotechnology; R. Sethunadh, School of Distance education; T.M. Vasudevan, Department of Library and Information Science; and Lekshmi Pradeep, Department of Communication and Journalism.

The deans selected to the Senate are P. Sivadasan, Department of History (humanities); Kavitha Balakrishnan, Department of Art History (fine arts); Abdul Gafoor, Department of Education (education); and Anu Joseph, Department of Biotechnology (medicine).

A senior university official said on Saturday that it would not be possible to hold the Syndicate elections without the full quorum. It has been over three months since the university concluded the poll process to pick Senate members representing various constituencies. Since the nomination of members to the Senate by the Governor, in his capacity as the Chancellor of the university, is not complete, the Syndicate elections are getting delayed. The reconstituted Senate is going to have 108 members.

Fourteen of the Syndicate members are elected from among the Senate members. Six others, such as the Vice-Chancellor, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Higher Education Secretary, Director of Public Instruction, Director of Collegiate Education and Information Technology Secretary, are ex-officio members. Another six have already been nominated by the State government.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.