Mamata is West Bengal Chief Minister, once again

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee was sworn in as Chief Minister of West Bengal on Friday, beginning her second stint in the once-Left dominated State.

She has already submitted her list of council of Ministers to Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi. Forty-one ministers, including 17 new faces, were sworn in along with her in batches at a function at Red Road in central Kolkata.

The Council of Ministers include five Ministers of State (independent charge) and eight Ministers of State.

“There will be representation from all districts, except Malda. In Malda we don’t have any representation,” Ms. Banerjee had said. Darjeeling and Malda are the two districts where the Trinamool failed to open its account.

Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Minister of State for Urban Development Babul Supriyo attended the swearing-in ceremony.

On Thursday, Ms. Banerjee's Tamil Nadu counterpart Jayalalithaa extended her wishes to the former.

Live updates:

1:19 pm: We end the live updates with the complete list of Council of Ministers that can be accessed >here.

1:12 pm: Over 30,000 guests attended the event.

1:10 pm: Most of roads reaching central areas of the city were diverted resulting in traffic chaos as the cabinet is took oath in the main arterial road connecting south to central Kolkata.

1:09 pm: The ceremony ends with the National Anthem

Suvendu Adhikari gets blessings from Mamata Banerjee. Photo: Ashoke Chakrabarty

1:07 pm: Lakhiratan Shukla, Zakir Hossin, Indranil Sen Shyamal Santra take oath as Ministers of State.

1:06 pm: Ashish Bandhopadhyay, James Kujur, Tapan Dasgupta take oath

1:02 pm: Next batch to take oath are the ministers of state (Independent Charge). They are Swapan Debnath, Sashi Panja, Siddikulaah Chowdhury and Ashima Patra

12:57 pm: Chandranath Singh, Soumen Mahapatra, Rajeeb Bandhopadhyay, Churamani Mahato and Malay Ghatak take oath.

12:55 pm: Purnendhu Basu, Rabindranath Ghosh, Arup Roy Shantiram Mahato, and Bratya Basu take oath

12:52 pm: Ministers Abdur Rezzak Molla, Suvendu Adhikari, Sadhan Pandey and Jyotipriya Malkik take oath.

12:50 pm: Ministers Firhad Hakim, Arup Biswas, Javed Khan, Sovan Chatterjee and Gouam Deb take oath.

12:48 pm: Just like Tamil Nadu, ministers take oath in batches. First to take are: Amit Mitra, Partha Chatterjee, Abani Jowardar, and Sovandeb Chatterjee.

12:47 pm: Her council of ministers include five Minister of States (Independent Charge) and 8 MoS.

12:44 pm: The Governor administers the oath of screcy to Ms. Banerjee

12:43 pm: ' Ame Mamata Banerjee' Ms. Banerjee takes oath as the chief minister in the name of ' Iswar aur Allah'

12:40 pm: Governor K.N. Tripathi has arrived. National anthem is being played.

12:38 pm: Ms. Banerjee has arrived at the venue.

12:35 pm: RJD chief Lalu Prasad is also present. Interesting to see non-BJP, non-Congress chief ministers attending the function.

12:33 pm: Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, a personal friend of Ms. Banerjee is also attending the ceremony.

12:30 pm: Since Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheik Hasina is touring Japan, the nations Industries Minister is attending the ceremony on her behalf.

12:26 pm: Former skipper Saurav Ganguly has also reached the venue.

12:25 pm: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar have arrived at the venue.

12:20 pm: Ms. Banerjee's cabinet will have 17 new faces.

12:13 pm: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has set out from her house at Kalighat in South Kolkata towards Red Road.

12:01 pm: Though union ministers will be attending the ceremony, the State BJP has decided to boycott it, after Roopa Ganguly was attacked.

11:55 am: Ms. Banerjee had extended invitation to her Tamil Nadu counterpart too. Ms. Jayalalithaa sent her best wishes instead.

11:53 am: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar are expected to attend the ceremony.

11:51 am: Elaborate security arrangements have been made at the venue. Drones are being used for surveillance.

11:50 am: Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and her council of 41 ministers will be sworn in from Red Road shortly.

Preparations underway for the swearing-in ceremony of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Kolkata on Thursday.

Preparations underway for the swearing-in ceremony of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Kolkata on Thursday. Photo: PTI

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 19, 2021 5:42:19 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/kolkata/Mamata-is-West-Bengal-Chief-Minister-once-again/article14342410.ece

Next Story