Ramanujan prize for U.K. mathematician

Recognising talent: Adam Harper was awarded the prize for his contributions to analytic & probabilistic number theory  

The SASTRA Ramanujan prize for 2019 will be awarded to mathematician Adam Harper, Assistant Professor with the University of Warwick, England.

The prize carries a citation and an award of $10,000 and is conferred annually on mathematicians from across the world who are less than 32 years of age, working in an area influenced by the genius Srinivasa Ramanujan.

“The SASTRA-Ramanujan Award has gained global repute ever since it was instituted in 2005 and today is easily amongst the top five awards of this type for mathematics. Many previous winners, including Manjul Bhargava and Akshay Venkatesh, went on to win the Fields Medal later,” said Dr. S. Vaidhyasubramaniam, Vice-Chancellor of SASTRA University, in a press release.

Four mathematicians who were awarded this prize have gone on to win the Fields Medal later.

Noted number theorist and former director of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, Prof. R. Balasubramanian observed that the problems on which Mr. Harper works are interesting. “He has improved earlier results obtained by Kannan Soundararajan and Andrew Granville. His paper with Ben Green on large sieve is also worth mentioning,” he said.

The citation said Mr. Harper was awarded the prize “for several outstanding contributions to analytic and probabilistic number theory.”

“The prize recognizes his marvellous 2012 PhD thesis at Cambridge University, and his paper of 2013 in Crelle’s Journal …Harper’s recent brilliant proof of a conjecture of Helson…and a related paper… to appear in Algebra and Number Theory. The prize also recognizes Harper’s seminal work using the Riemann Hypothesis to determine the correct order upper bound for the higher moments of the Riemann zeta function on the critical line…”

The age limit is 32 years to commemorate the fact that Srinivasa Ramanujan accomplished a phenomenal body of work in this short span.

Every year, this prize is awarded by SASTRA University on its campus near Kumbakonam in Tamil Nadu, on Ramanujan’s birth anniversary, December 22.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 12, 2021 12:34:42 PM |

Next Story