Public holidays for 2020 announced

The Tamil Nadu government has announced a list of public holidays for 2020 under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881. Of these public holidays, seven days fall either on a Saturday or a Sunday.

The list of public holidays are: New Year's Day (January 1, Wednesay), Pongal (January 15, Wednesday), Tiruvalluvar Day (January 16, Thursday), Uzhavar Thirunal (January 17, Friday), Republic Day (January 26, Sunday) and Telugu New Year's Day (March 23, Wednesday) are in the first quarter.

Mahaveer Jayanthi (April 6, Monday), Good Friday (April 10, Friday), Tamil New Year's Day and B.R. Ambedkar's Birthday (April 14, Tuesday), May Day (May 1, Friday) and Ramzan (May 25, Monday) are the public holidays in the second quarter.

In the third quarter, Bakrid (August 1, Saturday), Krishna Jayanthi (August 11, Tuesday), Independence Day (August 15, Saturday), Vinayakar Chathurthi (August 22, Saturday), Muharram (August 30, Sunday) are the public holidays.

Gandhi Jayanthi (October 2, Friday), Ayutha Pooja (October 25, Sunday), Vijaya Dasami (October 26, Monday), Milad-un-Nabi (October 30, Friday), Deepavali (November 14, Saturday) and Christmas (December 25, Friday) are the holidays in the last quarter of the year.

Besides, annual closing of accounts for commercial banks and cooperative banks on April 1 is also a holiday.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 6, 2021 9:50:56 PM |

Next Story