Legends steal the show at Close Up Vijay Awards

MOMENT TO CHERISH: Director K. Balachander receives Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award from producer A.V.M. Saravanan at the Vijay Awards in Chennai on Saturday.  

It was an evening to honour icons of Tamil cinema and celebrate their contribution to filmdom. The fifth annual edition of Close Up Vijay Awards presented by Vijay TV turned out to be a memorable event for many, both the recipients and the presenters of the awards.

The star-studded ceremony here on Saturday saw an excited audience giving several rounds of standing ovation to legends of the Tamil film industry. The celebrations kicked off by honouring the nine recipients of the National Film Award from the State. Many among them such as actors Saranya Ponvannan and Thambi Ramaiah, lyricist Vairamuthu and choreographer Dinesh were presented with Vijay awards for best supporting actor (female and male), best lyricist and best choreographer.

It was a moment to be cherished when veteran director K.Balachander was presented with Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan award for his contribution to the film industry. Mr.Balachander said “I am yet to receive the Dadasaheb Phalke award. It has only been announced. I regard this as an honour equal to that.”

Asked about actor Rajinikanth's health, he said: “He called me when he was discharged from hospital in Singapore. Rajini asked me to convey that he is well.”

The special award to veteran choreographer Sundaram for the category ‘Contribution to Tamil Cinema' turned out to be picture perfect moments as his three sons who are choreographers and others trained by Mr.Sundaram joined him.

Recalling that he was introduced to the field by Mr.Balachander, Mr.Sundaram said he has worked with many luminaries, including N.T.Rama Rao, M.G.Ramachandran and Jayalalithaa.

Many films bagged more than one award.

The winners for 32 categories were chosen from 149 films released in 2010. The film crew of ‘Angadi Theru' bagged three awards: Vasantha Balan (best director), Anjali (best actor-female) and best film.

Mr. Rajinikanth was adjudged the best villain (for Enthiran). Actor Dhanush, who received the award, read out a letter from the actor, which said: “When K.Balachander sir introduced me, he saw me best suited for villain character. I would also like to act as Ravanan rather than Raman.”

Actor Vikram was chosen as best actor for his performance in ‘Ravanan.' A.R.Rahman was adjudged best music director for ‘Vinnai Thandi Varuvaya.' His mother received the award.

Actor Suriya was presented the best entertainer award for ‘Singam' and the jury special award was given to director Seenu Ramasamy for ‘Thenmerku Paruvakatru'. ‘Myna' bagged the best crew of the year award.

Viewers' awards

Favourite category awards chosen by Vijay TV viewers were presented under four categories. Actors Rajinikanth and Trisha won the favourite hero and heroine awards.

‘Enthiran' was chosen as favourite film and favourite director award went to Mr.Shankar.

The spectacular ceremony was interspersed with scintillating dance and music performances, including those of actor Amala Paul.

The Hindu Cinema Plus was the media partner.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 21, 2022 5:14:16 PM |

Next Story