Disqualified MLAs likely to move SC


Seventeen disqualified AIADMK legislators owing allegiance to AMMK leader T.T.V. Dhinakaran are likely to move the Supreme Court in connection with their case. The Speaker had disqualified the MLAs belonging to the TTV camp on the ground of attempting to pull down the AIADMK government.

Earlier this month, a two-member division bench of the Madras High Court had delivered a split verdict on their petitions challenging the order of the Speaker to disqualify them. The case would be listed before a third judge.

Against this backdrop, the disqualified legislators are learnt to have decided to approach the SC with a plea to transfer the case to the apex court instead of allowing a third judge of the Madras HC to hear their petitions. The disqualified legislators have not spelt out the reason for such a prayer. The move to approach the SC is being contemplated by 17 of the MLAs. Thanga Tamilselvan had earlier announced that he would like to withdraw his petition.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Chennai
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 9, 2019 10:14:38 AM |

Next Story