Details of merged wards online soon

Residents of the city and the areas being merged with the Chennai Corporation will soon be able to find out the wards and zones they would belong to by logging on to the civic body's website ( > The civic body is in the process of putting up the map of the 15 new zones and the 200 wards on its site in a couple of days.

“If they key in their address, they can find out the ward and zone to which they belong to. The map would also be made available online,” Corporation Commissioner D. Karthikeyan told The Hindu.

Unlike the present 155 wards of the Chennai Corporation, the newly demarcated 200 wards are yet to get names. “As far as the new areas are concerned, two village panchayats, Sadayankuppam and Kadapakkam, are being brought together to form one ward. Similarly, inside the city, existing wards are being portioned to form new wards. So naming them is difficult. Administration of the wards is more important than naming them,” he said.

The draft electoral rolls would also be made online soon and voters can find out if their names have been included. There are a total of 44.17 lakh voters in the expanded corporation and 4,876 polling booths. Each ward would be divided into around 18 parts. The serial numbers of voters would also change, he added.

R.Gayathri of K.K.Nagar said she was not aware of her new ward and would look it up when the details are made online. Though she pays her property tax online, she said she does not prefer to register complaints on the website. “I prefer the 1913 number as somebody is there to ask what your problem is and note down details. If a proper complaint redressal mechanism is put in place, then the residents can register their complaints online. Right now the response to our complaints through 1913 regarding garbage clearance is very poor.”

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 13, 2021 2:19:12 PM |

Next Story