Candidates of AMMK, MNM, NTK lose deposit in all LS constituencies


DMDK too loses deposit in 2 seats

Candidates from smaller parties such as actor Kamal Haasan-led Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM), Seeman-led Naam Tamilar Katchi (NTK) and TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK), forfeited deposit in all the Lok Sabha constituencies they contested.

A candidate is deemed to have lost his deposit if he fails to secure more than 16.66% or one sixth of the total votes polled.

An analysis of the results published by the Election Commission of India (ECI), the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) candidates lost deposit in two of of the four seats, despite being backed by the AIADMK, BJP and PMK.

DMDK’s candidates V. Elangovan secured only 15.46% in Tiruchirappalli and Alagaapuram R. Mohanraj got only 13.55% votes in Chennai North.

While Independent candidates fielded by Mr. Dhinakaran also lost their deposit, one of his supporters R. Sundararaj, who contested in the Ottapidaram (SC) Assembly bypoll secured 17.15% votes of the total votes polled and managed to retain his deposit.

The MNM, which contested its first election this year, managed to secure a vote share upto 12% in one parliamentary constituency.

The NTK maintained an average vote share of about 4% in almost all parliamentary constituencies.

MNM and NTK candidates lost their deposit in all Assembly constituencies they contested for the byelection.

Candidates of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), whose presence in the party is hard to find in the State, too lost deposit their in all the parliamentary constituencies. The BSP’s best vote share was 1.08% in Tiruvallur (SC) Parliamentary constituency.

Though Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) lost all the seven seats it contested, its candidates managed to secure their deposit.

Related Topics Chennai
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 26, 2019 7:50:13 PM |

Next Story