Vani Kala Sudhakara awards conferred

Thirukkurungudi Perarulala Ramanuja Jeer confers the Vani Kala Sudhakara award on P.S. Saraswathi. Also in the picture are (from left) R.K. Srikantan, V.V. Subrahmanyam, Trichy Sankaran and Lakshmi Viswanathan. Photo: S.S. Kumar   | Photo Credit: S_S_KUMAR

Sri Thyaga Brahma Gana Sabha on Monday conferred the ‘Vani Kala Sudhakara’ awards on five eminent personalities in recognition of their meritorious service in the fields of Carnatic music, Bharatanatyam and theatre.

The sabha’s 34th Isai Iyal Nataka Vizha and 25th Bharatham Festival was inaugurated by Thirukkurungudi Perarulala Ramanuja Jeer at Vani Mahal. The awards were conferred on R.K. Srikantan (vocal), V.V. Subrahmanyam (violin), Trichy Sankaran (mridangam), Lakshmi Viswanathan (Bharatanatyam) and P.S. Sachu (theatre).

They also received a cash award of Rs. one lakh each.

Presiding over the function, K. Parasaran, Member of Parliament and former Attorney General of India praised the sabha’s patronage of culture over the past 69 years.

He called for a greater encouragement of the classical arts.

P. Suresh, Managing Director, Arun Excello Realty Private Limited, appealed to classical musicians to be innovative to attract more youngsters to their music. Pappu Venugopal Rao, musicologist, also felicitated the awardees.

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 9, 2021 7:43:54 PM |

Next Story