Government order outlines syllabus for Standards VI to X

The State government issued a Government Order recently outlining the syllabus and examination pattern for Standards VI to X, as per equitable standard school education.

Dated 1.2.2010, the G.O. states that as per the uniform syllabus introduced as part of the government’s initiative to introduce equitable standard school education, Tamil (compulsory), English (compulsory), Mathematics, Science and Social Science will be the subjects of study for students of Standards VI to X.

However, students currently pursuing any other language would be allowed to continue with it for the next year alone and others, who started learning Tamil in Standard I when the Tamil Nadu Tamil Learning Act 2006 was passed, would learn Tamil in Standard VI from the academic year beginning 2011, according to a senior official of the School Education Department. Under the law, Tamil was made compulsory for students of Standard I from academic year 2006-07.

Exam pattern

The examination pattern to be followed for the Standard IX annual examination and Standard X Board examination will be Tamil (paper I and II ) for 100 marks each , English (paper I and II ) for 100 marks each, Mathematics for 100 marks, Science with theoretical examination for 75 marks and practical examination 25 marks and Social Science for 100 marks.

For Standards VI, VII and VIII, there would be only one paper for Tamil and English.

The G.O. was sent to the Directorates of School Education, Matriculation Schools and Elementary Education, urging them to ask schools to gear up for the system.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 8, 2020 3:26:18 PM |

Next Story