Four more taluks formed

Four more taluks, Ambur (Vellore district), Madathukulam (Tirupur), Alandur and Sholinganallur (both Kancheepuram), have been formed.

The Tambaram Revenue Division has been carved out of the Chengalpattu Division, by covering Tambaram, Alandur and Sholinganallur taluks. Similarly, the Dharapuram Division has been split to make the Udumalpet Revenue Division that will include Madathukulam and Udumalpet taluks.

The move follows announcements made in the Assembly on June 30 during the debate on the demand for grants to the Revenue department, according to an official release issued on Thursday.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 6, 2020 11:40:37 PM |

Next Story