Three from city get Bhatnagar prize

Three Bengaluru scientists were among the winners of the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB) for Science and Technology 2018, which was announced on Wednesday.

Dr. Ganesh Nagaraju, Department of Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science (IISc.), was chosen in the field of Biological Sciences. DNA Repair, Chromosome Instability, and Genetic Diseases and Cancer are his areas of specialisation.

In Medical Sciences, Dr. Ganesan Venkatasubramanian from the Department of Psychiatry in the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), with psychiatry as his specialisation, was among the winners.

Dr. Ambarish Ghosh from the Centre for Nano Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, was picked in the field of Physical Sciences. Soft Matter Physics, Optics and Low Temperature Physics are his areas of specialisation.

The SSB prizes are awarded annually for notable and outstanding research in the disciplines of Biological Sciences; Chemical Sciences; Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences; Engineering Sciences; Mathematical Sciences; Medical Sciences and Physical Sciences.

The names of the recipients are made public on September 26, the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) Foundation Day, and the prizes are awarded at a formal presentation ceremony arranged by CSIR.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 28, 2021 5:46:49 PM |

Next Story