Six writers to return award to Sahitya Parishat

Six writers, who were conferred Kannada Sahitya Parishat’s BMTC Aralu Sahitya award, are returning them on Saturday “condemning the delay in arresting persons connected to the assassination of M.M. Kalburgi”.

In a release, Veeranna Madiwalar (Belagavi), T. Satish Javare Gowda (Mandya), Sangamesh Menasinakai (Dharwad), Hanumanth Haligeri (Bagalkot), Sridevi V. Aloor (Ballari) and Chidananda Sali (Raichur) said that they had received the awards on November 22, 2011, during which Kalburgi was conferred the Nrupatunga award.

They are returning the awards to the Parishat’s president Pundalika Halambi. They will be accompanied by Prof. Chandrashekara Patil, who returned the prestigious Pampa award to protest the assassination of Kalburgi.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 17, 2022 5:40:58 AM |

Next Story