Six from Karnataka chosen for Padma awards

K. Radhakrishnan  

Six persons of eminence from Karnataka, including chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) K. Radhakrishnan and director of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc.) P. Balaram, figure in the list of 127 Padma award winners announced by the Union government on Saturday.

The other winners from the State are the former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Madappa Mahadevappa; professor in the Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry at IISc. Eluvathingal Devassy Jemmis; gynaecologist Kamini A. Rao, and wheelchair tennis ace H. Boniface Prabhu.

While Prof. Balaram, Dr. Radhakrishnan and Dr. Mahadevappa have been chosen for the Padma Bhushan, Prof. Jemmis, Dr. Rao and Mr. Prabhu have been chosen for the Padma Shri.

Dr. Radhakrishnan said, “It’s a great honour for ISRO and a great moment for me.”

Prof. Balaram said the award was unexpected. “I am flattered by the recognition, and I am thankful to have worked in the place I have,” he said about IISc. Prof. Jemmis said, “The award is a great encouragement, and it is gratifying to know that the government has watched and taken notice of the hard work that we have put in.”

Dr. Mahadevappa, who has been chosen for the award for his nearly 55 years of service in the farm sector, said he would consider this as an honour for those who work for farmers and the rural sector. “I only hope that at least after this honour, our State government engages me in its work in the field of agricultural sciences,” he said.

Dr. Rao called it the “victory to fertility and to infertile couples”. Mr. Prabhu said he was excited that his “dream” came true after a long wait. “I dedicate this honour to the people who extended support to me, blessed me and kept my spirit going.”

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 21, 2021 12:29:27 PM |

Next Story