Panel formed to coordinate works

A 14-member committee, headed by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, has been constituted to coordinate the activities of various public utility agencies in the city. Bengaluru Development Minister K.J. George is the deputy chairman of the panel.

The panel members are: the mayor; additional chief secretary of Urban Development; city police commissioner; commissioners of Transport, BBMP, BDA; chairman, BWSSB; chairman, BMTC; managing directors of BMRCL and Bescom; CEO of Lake Development Authority; and chief commissioner of the Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority. The Director General of Police, Fire and Emergency Services, and the commissioner of the Karnataka Slum Development Board are special invitees to the panel meeting.

The panel will monitor development works taken up simultaneously by various agencies. This is because there have been instances of agencies digging up newly laid and asphalted roads, because of lack of coordination.

The coordination committee was announced a month ago by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah to avoid duplication of work.

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 10, 2020 2:28:01 PM |

Next Story