Draft electoral roll published using GIS maps

November 06, 2012 09:12 am | Updated 09:12 am IST - Bangalore

For the first time in the country, the electoral list has been prepared using geographical information system (GIS) maps. The draft electoral roll for the 28 Assembly constituencies in the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) limits has been published and put up in all ward offices, voter facilitation centres, and offices of revenue officers and assistant revenue officers and citizens can verify their particulars.

BBMP Commissioner Rajneesh Goel said that citizens may file any claims or objections either online or at the ARO concerned by December 4.

Special campaigns will be organised on November 18, November 25 and January 2 in all the 28 Assembly constituencies. The final electoral roll will be published on January 16, 2013.

V.R. Hegde, consultant, said each voter had been mapped to a particular road, lane or street in the city. With the proper boundaries being fixed for the 6,000 polling stations, any ambiguity or confusion about where to vote will be eliminated.

Citizens can get details about their polling station address and Assembly constituency by sending the voter’s identity card number as an SMS (format: KAEPIC <voter’s ID card number>) to Ph: 9243355223. The soft copy of the roll is available on the Chief Election Officer’s website www.ceokarnataka.kar.nic.in. To submit applications online, visit www.voterreg.kar.nic.in.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.