Busy road between K.R. Puram metro and railway stations

The Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation on Wednesday unveiled a detailed map of the extension to Reach 1 of Namma Metro which will connect Baiyappanahalli station to Whitefield. The 15.50 kilometre line with 13 stations is scheduled for completion in 2020.

According to the map, the metro viaduct will join Swami Vivekananda Road near the Benniganahalli flyover with the Jyothipura station located a little ahead of Tin Factory. It then passes adjacent to the K.R. Puram bridge before reaching the K.R. Puram station which, according to the map, is likely to come up on a vacant plot opposite the K.R. Puram railway station.

The location of the K.R. Puram metro station is likely to draw the ire of commuters who are already protesting the shifting of Cantonment metro station away from Cantonment railway station.

The K.R. Puram station is also the interchange for the Purple line and the Outer Ring Road line, which is part of Phase 2A and will connect to Silk Board junction.

After K.R. Puram, the line follows the Whitefield Main Road and reaches Mahadevpura station, which will come up opposite Mahadevpura police station.

The Garudacharpalya station will be located opposite the office of Capgemini on ITPL Main Road. After this, the metro will take a sharp right towards Sadaramangala road where the Doddanakundi industrial area, Visvesvaraya industrial area, Kundanahalli, Vaidehi Hospital and Satya Sai Hospital stations will be located before the line rejoins Whitefield Main Road.

Here, the ITPL terminal station as well as Kadugodi station will be located in a straight line before the line turns left towards Ujjval Vidyalaya where the penultimate station is located.

According to BMRCL's latest newsletter, land acquisition is in progress for the stretch between Baiyappanahalli to Mahadevpura. Disbursement of compensation for acquired land is in progress between Mahadevpura and Whitefield.

The route

Extension to Reach 1

Baiyappanahalli to Whitefield

Length: 15.5 km

Stations: 13

Cost: ₹1,300

Deadline: 2020

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 20, 2021 2:54:16 AM |

Next Story